Union Catalogue, which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the ten provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. Its book collection is growing steadily and at the end of 1961 consisted of about 250,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

National Parole Board.—The establishment of the National Parole Board, which was formed in January 1959, is authorized by the Parole Act (SC 1958, c. 38) by which it is given absolute jurisdiction over all matters of parole. It is composed of a chairman and three members appointed by Order in Council for a ten-year period. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Justice.

Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as sales and excise taxes, by ports and outports. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes and estate taxes by 29 district offices throughout Canada.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Tax Appeal Board and also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Board of Broadcast Governors.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to Administration Services, which performs auxiliary functions, the Department is divided into six branches: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government; the Water Resources Branch is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interest in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration Branch is responsible for the administration of various federal Acts, territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain other lands and mineral rights vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; the Natural History Branch and Human History Branch of the National Museum of Canada are responsible for research, publication of scientific studies, and public exhibitions in their respective fields of natural history and human history; and the Canadian Government Travel Bureau promotes the tourist industry by encouraging travel to Canada.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission and the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Committees on Northern Development and Water Use Policy act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in their respective fields. The Deputy Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and Chairman of the Northern Canada Power Commission.

Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (RSC 1952, c. 222) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed on official records of the Government and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs. In 1956 the Archives opened a large Records Centre, designed to provide economical accomodation for departmental records that are used relatively seldom. The building, equipped with over 50 miles of shelving, also serves as a sorting centre in which papers of long-term interest are picked out of obsolete files, and useless material is segregated for destruction.